The Duke of Edinburgh's Award

The Duke of Edinburgh's Gold Award Badge


The Duke of Edinburgh's Award is a voluntary, non-competitive programme of practical, cultural and adventurous activities, designed to support the personal and social development of young people aged 14-25, regardless of gender, background or ability. It offers an individual challenge and encourages young people to undertake exciting, constructive, challenging and enjoyable activities in their free time.

It is a five-Section Programme with three progressive levels:

  • Bronze (for those aged 14 and over)

  • Silver (for those aged 15 and over) and

  • Gold (for those aged 16 and over).

The sections involve:

  • Volunteering (helping other people in the local community)

  • Physical (sport, dance and fitness)

  • Skills (covering almost any hobby, skill or interest)

  • Expeditions (training for, planning and completing a journey on foot or horseback, by boat or cycle)

  • Residential (Gold Award only) (a purposeful enterprise with people not previously known to the participant)

How Does the Award fit with Scouting Badges

There is actually a considerable overlap between the Explorer Scout Diamond,  Platinum and Queen's Scout Awards and the Duke of Edinburgh's Bronze, Silver and Gold Awards. By doing the two schemes in parallel, you can get both awards for only a little more than effort.

More Information

If you want to find out more about the scheme, then please talk to one of the leaders. More information on the Duke of Edinburgh's Award is also available from the Scout Association or from the main Duke of Edinburgh's Award site.